Kathi Pelton: Give Thanks! Let the Weak Say I Am Strong

Beat your plowshares into swords, and your pruning hooks into spears; let the weak say, “I am strong (a mighty warrior)!”—Joel 3:10

Kathi Pelton

In the early hours of the morning in the first days of August, I was awakened by the voice of the Holy Spirit speaking these words:

“Let the weak say, ‘I am strong,’ and the poor say, ‘I am rich!'”

I recognized the words from the lyrics of the famous song, “Give Thanks” that so many of us have sung in worship services for many years. As soon as I heard the words it was as if faith and strength came upon me, and I declared words of life over myself and my family that brought greater alignment with God’s truth.

The Spirit began to declare through me the strength of God in all areas of weakness in my life and the lives of those that I love. Then He began to declare through me the riches that come from knowing Christ in every area that we felt poor.

Speak Words of Life

The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.—Proverbs 18:21

This Scripture is a powerful truth, and the Church must pay close attention. It is hard during difficult times not to feel the pull of agreement with lack and pain, but it is vitally important to use our words to come into agreement with truth and life.

For some, it may take some “habit breaking” in order to do this, but it is so important. Go on a negative word fast and begin to speak light and truth into your life and the lives of your family, friends and nation. As we read in Joel 3:10, the Lord tells us that in weakness we are to say that we are a strong and mighty warrior. These are not hopeful confessions or delusions of grandeur but the truth of who we are in Christ.

But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.—2 Corinthians 12:9

Remember, we are not boasting in our strength, but the strength of the Lord that is made manifest in our weakness and the abundance of Christ that is made manifest in our lack. So, if you speak of your weakness, let it be completed by a confession of His strength and grace that is upon you.

Give Thanks

Are you weak? Give thanks for His strength being made perfect in your weakness. Are you poor? Give thanks for the abundance of His blessings, presence, provision and grace that is daily poured out to you. Are you blind? Thank Him for the sight that He gives to those who cannot see. Are you lonely? Give thanks for the nearness of His presence that is always with you. Are you fearful? Give thanks for the peace that He offers to all those who call upon Him.

Last month I wrote about how our testimonies can open doors (see “Testify and Doors Will Open” on the Elijah List). Your testimonies are words of life; but this month I want you to add words that prophesy life into your life, and fast all negative confessions of hopelessness. Then give thanks! Thank Him for His strength, His riches, His grace and His truth. Encourage others who are discouraged to do the same! Let’s end this season of great testing with declarations and words of life and truth.

So…let the weak say, “I am strong!” and the poor say, “I am rich!”

Choose Life!

Kathi Pelton
Light Streams Ministries/Compassion Arise

Email: jkpelton@sbcglobal.net

Source: Elijah List

One Response to Kathi Pelton: Give Thanks! Let the Weak Say I Am Strong

  1. Pam Mass says:

    This is great! How did you learn this stuff?

Leave a Reply

