Pastors Question Francis Chan’s Decision to Leave Megachurch

By Lillian Kwon | Christian Post Reporter

Popular author and preacher Francis Chan was recently questioned by fellow pastors who tried to wrap their heads around Chan’s decision to leave his megachurch.

“I’ll be honest. Everybody thinks you’re cuckoo for cocoa puffs. You got a good church going on and you hit the eject button and now you’re the international man of fu Manchu mystery,” said Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church in Seattle.

(Photo: The Gospel Coalition via The Christian Post)
Francis Chan, former senior pastor of Cornerstone Church in Simi Valley, Calif., addresses questions about his decision to let go of his church and follow a stirring in his heart. The discussion included Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Church in Seattle and Pastor Joshua Harris of Gaithersburg, Md.

“What is going on? What are you thinking?”

Chan announced in April that he would be letting go of Cornerstone Church in Simi Valley, Calif. – a church he founded 16 years ago – to follow a stirring in his heart. He preached his last sermon there in May and has since been speaking to Christians and pastors alike about his restlessness with comfortable Christianity and his desire to surrender himself fully to God.

Responding to Driscoll during a frank discussion – that also included Pastor Joshua Harris of Gaithersburg, Md. – about his decision, Chan said, “A lot of it is personal. A lot of it is when I look at the Scriptures I see this commitment, this devotion, this hardcore ‘we will follow, we’ll do anything, we’re all about going out and making disciples.'”

He said he wanted to start over and get a core group of disciples who just try 100 percent to follow the life he felt was clearly spelled out in Scripture.

“While I feel like I’m getting closer and closer to what the spirit is leading me to do based on my convictions of Scripture, I don’t think I can totally get there by constantly tweaking,” he explained.

“I’ve read the book (Bible). I got this theology in my head. I have all these thoughts and convictions. Let me just start something fresh with all of those convictions rather than constantly tweaking something that I may have possibly taken in the wrong direction for a little while.” Read more: Christian Post

Leave a Reply

